Is YouTube in our Future?

In this digital age of information sharing, our future in the field of communications has endless possibilities when it comes to what we will be doing in the years to come.  Where we get our news is ever changing, and in order to be successful, we must constantly be available to whatever medium is being used.  I personally get all of my news online, and most of it comes from YouTube “Vloggers” who post daily videos about what is going on in the world.  My favorite YouTube channel is SXEPHIL, which was started and is hosted by Philip DeFranco.  He takes the typical role of a news anchor, and adds a creative spin on it, making it faster, more interesting, and more accessible to young viewers, in particular.  What I love is that since he is his own boss and doesn’t need his content approved, he can basically say whatever he wants.  By making the news subjective, I find it more interesting and sometimes easier to understand.

Phil has been a part of the YouTube community for about six years now, and delivering news in this style for most of that time.  The reason why is so popular and successful today is because he invested in YouTube before it was cool.  (Hey, I guess it pays to be a hipster.)  By attracting so much traffic to his channel, Phil makes his money from the advertisements, endorsements, meet-and-greets, along with a steady salary from Google.  This all adds up to a very comfortable annual salary.  The fact that this could one day be us is what makes the Professional Communications and Emerging Media program so exciting.  Could this be the future of Journalism?

3 thoughts on “Is YouTube in our Future?

  1. dormdoll

    I love the PhillyD show. In fact my first blog post on this site was about him. He really does report the news in the best way possible, and it makes me so happy that people know about him and that he receives enough support to carry on bringing us news in a manner I’m willing to pay attention to.

    Reply
  2. vareckamediacomm

    I LOVE Pihilly D! He is seriously where I go to learn what is going on in the world. I did a blog about him a few weeks ago when he was talking about the election and the debate. He just tells it like it is, which I love, instead of listening to news anchors or other journalists bullshit at you.

    Reply
  3. afloersch

    I can’t believe I’ve never heard of him! So depressing… I never have time for the full news, so I guess I’ve found my new source of information. I DO believe this is where our major is going. As time goes on, I think we will become one of the most tech savvy majors. We, especially, need to use technology to our advantage and keep up with it to succeed.

    Reply

Leave a comment